Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#95193 - 02/25/08 10:57 AM Only 45lbs compression !?!?!?
fearnot Offline
Loc: N.E. GA
1998 Grand Prix 3800 NA. 130k miles Dad's car.

I'm no mechanic but here's what I have.

Compression - #1 is 45lbs. #3 and #5 are 175lbs.
Leak down at TDC - #1, pressure seems to flow right out the exhaust, no leakage into #3, no pressure spike in coolant, no air out the dipstick.

Valve lash on #1 was very similar to the rest, indicating to me that the valve might be fully closed and not hanging on carbon or something. I haven't yet measure the valve stem height or valve guide play though.

Am I looking at pulling the heads and having them worked? Or is there something else I should be looking at first?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Ian

Some back up info.....
It developed a miss that would come and go. CEL would light solid and go away after time. Most times it would run fine, but occasionally it would develop a miss while at highway speed and it would stay, from idle right on up. The only code was P0300 misfire. Dad tried chasing the problem down with coils, plugs and wires. It was fine for a while, then the miss came back and stayed for good. CEL started blinking, codes are P0300 and P0301 (misfire in Cylinder #1).

Previously, when chasing the problem and changing plugs, they all looked lean. Now they're all lean and #1 is black with gunk.

Edit: added info
#95194 - 02/25/08 11:13 AM Re: Only 45lbs compression !?!?!?
r.s.hutchinson Offline
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally posted by fearnot: