Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#144900 - 08/03/05 10:16 PM Problem w/ DIC
Ford2GM Offline
Loc: Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne
I was driving back from Boca Raton last night and I noticed that my DIC was dimmer than usual. Being an engineer, I knew a little tapping on the dash would fix everything. Unfortunately, it turned off completely! More tapping didn't fix the situation. I've only had this car a few months so I'm not yet familiar with all of the goings-on behind the dash. What could cause this problem? Should I just humble up and take it to the dealer?
#144901 - 08/03/05 10:27 PM Re: Problem w/ DIC
TastyBake Offline
Loc: Ohio
If it is still under warranty, strongly recommend taking it to the dealer. Being an engineer you should know the goal sometimes is to fix the problem using the most efficient process. crazy
If it isn't and you call them and they say "We will have to charge you", then I assume it is a DIY task.
Personally, I am not sure how to fix this. I assume it is a loose connection since you hit it and it stopped.

BTW: Welcome to the board!!!

You're going to find LOTS of information and helpful folks on here.

[GONE]
GenV GTP engine, 12" Brakes, CAI, 3" DP, HighFlo Cat, 180 T-Stat, Aeroforce Gauge, Front STB, Stinger Fiberglass hood, Reflective Graphics.
#144902 - 08/03/05 11:10 PM Re: Problem w/ DIC
zuulmusic Offline
Loc: Cleveland, OH
Shine a bright flashlight into it while the car is running. Do you see the words/numbers?
If you're familiar with backlit LCDs,... the LCD functions separate from the backlight, so you could figure out if it is the whole thing or just the backlight thats out.
and as a note, my old grand prix has a small portion of the backlight go dim, so I don't know of the backlight functions as a whole or is separate pieces.

If the whole thing is dead, could be the connection in the cable behind the unit. (hopefully?)
#144903 - 08/03/05 11:12 PM Re: Problem w/ DIC
AustinGTP Offline
Loc: Austin, TX