Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#9552 - 08/20/03 12:39 AM '89 GP Charging System
JDooty1234 Offline
Loc: Ohio
Hello. I'm new to the Grand Prix, I pretty much had my hopes set on getting my Dodge Neon fixed, but it's in much worse shape than the Grand Prix we have.

We have a 1989 Grand Prix LE, 2.8L ATX. It's pretty much had problems since we aquired it used from a local dealer. I'm buying it off of my dad, who bought it originally, and after 2 breakdowns and repairs (culminating in a week visit to the shop each time), my dad came home one day during his workday, and parked it, and got in the Neon, our backup car, and drove off. The GP sat there for months, I'm not sure how long, and I have been fighting with the Neon and it's overheating problems just recently when I realized the GP's potential.

I was under the impression that the tranny was toast, but it's been discovered that it drives still. The problem is that the months of sitting in front of our house has killed the battery. It has absolutely no juice when the key is turned, unless I hook it up to the Neon's battery, then after about 5 minutes it starts rough, but ok. Theoretically, a jump start should be good enough to drive it, but after unhooking the Neon's battery the first time I jumped it, I put it into reverse, backed up, hit the brakes, and it died. I then re-jumped it, and revved it some, and was far enough back from the Neon that I could just go. I drove around the block, each corner was worrisome, the instrument cluster would dim when the brakes were applied, and flash once. The speedometer had troubles then too.