Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#52190 - 06/02/08 01:23 AM Replaced my wheel bearings! writeup & pics inside
notladstyle Offline
Loc: Tampa FL
So my front driver & passenger wheel bearings both had about a 5mm of play in them. I checked with the dealership and the ABS bearing and hub assemblies were $386 each!!! Advance Auto Parts has them for $180 each so I grabbed a set and rather than throwing down another $200 on labor to have them installed, I thought I would take a stab at it myself.

Turns out it isn't very hard at all - I'm not very experienced at mechanical maintenance and I was able to swap them out in 2.5 hours.

Take a look at my writeup and let me know if theres anything I should have done differently...

http://notladstyle.blogspot.com/2008/06/replace-wheel-bearings-in-2003-pontiac.html
#52191 - 06/02/08 01:33 AM Re: Replaced my wheel bearings! writeup & pics inside
Dre da GP man Offline
Loc: Alexandria, Virginia
Thats a nice write up. How long did it take you to do one wheel bearing. I need a bearing because mine is making some noise but I can't tell where its coming from.(it sound like its from the rear driver side but Im not sure since its so loud)
#52192 - 06/02/08 01:47 AM Re: Replaced my wheel bearings! writeup & pics inside
notladstyle Offline
The first one too about an hour and a half because I was feeling my way through it and trying to take pics, the second one took an hour.

The noise might be a wheel out of balance or an alignment issue(misaligned wheels will make excessive noise and wear quickly)

I'm going to get two new tires and a computerized alignment tomorrow.
#52193 - 06/02/08 02:08 AM Re: Replaced my wheel bearings! writeup & pics inside
lonezergling Offline
Loc: Waterford, WI
Hubs are like $80 a piece from ZZP...

http://s4.photobucket.com/albums/y130/venomman/
"If you are asking if you can do it, you can't. When you have learned enough to know that you can do it, you are able to." -me