Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#131696 - 04/12/08 03:18 PM LIM and UIM gasket change
BlackGTjg Offline
Loc: Rochester, NY
Hey all, I'm new to the board and yes I did a search and found some useful info on the LIM and UIM gaskets, however I am wondering if anyone has a write up on everything I need and how to do it as I am a newbie to working on this car. I consider myself to be a pretty decent backyard mechanic when it comes to heavily modding imports and also basic maintenance items on all cars but I have never attempted digging into a domestic before and need some help. The repair shop wants $800 to do it but I just cannot justify that knowing I have the skills to do it myself with a little help.

I have already purchased a UIM gasket kit from the ebay seller that one of the other board members linked to a few months back. Should be arriving Tuesday. I do not plan on keeping this car much longer than maybe another year so I am really not looking to get the best parts available, just what I need to get it running well enough to last until after I trade it in. Would the LIM kit from autozone be the way to go for this? Its a 2000 GP GT, 3.8 na, 105K on the motor. I would like to flush the coolant system and do plugs and wires since I'll be in there. What else is recommended that I should change while I'm in there? I read about coolant elbows in one thread and T stat. I did just replace my T stat about a year ago, should I change it again? What is recommended for these cars for plugs, wires, and coolant? Do I have to use dexcool? If so, where can I get it the cheapest? Whats the best way to flush a dexcool system b/c that stuff is like sludge! Also, do I need to get new bolts for the LIM and UIM and if so, where is the cheapest place to get them. Also would need to know torque specs and tightening order.