Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#162535 - 12/11/07 03:18 PM Brake question for a truck
UMfan Offline
Loc: Oregon
I posted a long time ago about my wife's truck acting up. I've finally realized it's "Brake Grab" that is the culprit.

From reading online, it seems there are a few possible causes:

1. parking brake not disengaging
2. worn brake pads/rotors
3. calipers need to be rebuilt

The first two are easy enough. Her brakes are starting to squeak anyway, so I know it's time for new ones. Problem is, the rear are drum brakes and I've never done them before. How hard are they compared to disc brakes?

Couple other questions:
1. How do I determine if the calipers need to be rebuilt?
2. How do you rebuild calipers? Would I be better off just buying reman ones?

It's probably too hard to convert it to 4 wheel disc brakes right?
#162536 - 12/11/07 03:40 PM Re: Brake question for a truck
ifitwasnt4u Offline
Loc: Phoenix, AZ
Its a PITA to convert over to 4 wheel disc. I always just buy reman calipers when they go, much easier and not the expencive really. To me sounds like Calipers are about shot.

Drum breaks are not hard, just a PITA to do. Make sure you have drum break tools (pick up at any autozone) and you can find step by step guides on google or something, or in a service manual if you have one.

Remember to get the rotors and drums turned before putting on new pads.
#162537 - 12/11/07 03:59 PM Re: Brake question for a truck
Blackarrow98GP Offline
Loc: CT, U.S.A
If you decide to replace the calipers, consider replacing the front brake hoses as well, since they can collapse internally, and contribute to "brake grab".
#162538 - 12/11/07 04:07 PM Re: Brake question for a truck
Richard Candelario Offline
x2, sorta, with Mike. I've only ever done drums with a small Standard screwdriver and 2 good fine-point needlenose pliers. Doin them brakes really are a PITA that have a tendency to make the person workin on them feel like a 'tard.