Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#188192 - 03/16/06 04:18 PM Ford SHO
UMfan Offline
Loc: Oregon
My fiancee had one of these when we lived in Michigan and I saw one the other day that kind of made me miss it. I'm wondering if I could talk my fiancee into trading her SUV for one of these (it could be her car, and my project car)

Prices look cheap on auto trader... does anyone know what the major breakdowns were for these? I'm thinking model years 91-95. If it's her car it will need to be an automatic trans.

I'm not good at tearing apart engines, so I'm curious what it would cost for a new engine or tranny (worst case if I buy a lemon and have to drop a new powertrain in it). If I sold her SUV, I'd have about ~3-4k left over to put towards rebuilding the SHO...

Come on, someone talk me out of this.
#188193 - 03/16/06 04:36 PM Re: Ford SHO
4rsssfed_grandprix98 Offline
Loc: South Bend
ha! funny you should mention, I have two really good friends (both car buffs) who both owned SHO's from what I can tell they are fairly good running cars, I once saw one cruising one night that was makeing 500+ horspower, of courst it had forged internals and a HUGE turbo, but they are pretty good cars I think, watch out for the valves though, I hear that they cause the most problems.

Also, my buddy still has his if you are looking, he's trying to sell, fairly decent body, needs new breaks (rotors pads possibly calipers) but other than that its in good shape, Leather, sunroof, power everything, he replaced the tranny last year with one from another sho with less miles, it runs great... it is a manual though

VS Cam,CompCams lifters,ZZPpushrods,Rollmaster double,4"intake,PLog headers,3"exhaust,IntensePCM,3.3"mps,ZZPHDTrans,3.29gears,2500 stall,GMPP adjustable suspension,TB spacer,160*tstat
#188194 - 03/16/06 06:54 PM Re: Ford SHO
HercMan(Rob) Offline
Loc: Fort Worth, Texas
Come on it's a friggin Taurus for petes sake. Snap out of it.