Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#19293 - 07/18/05 04:17 AM Just a few I guess stupid questions?
Cynthia Offline
Loc: Spring, TX
Alright, so I guess pretty much everybody knows about my car.. But I have a few questions, I guess they are stupid but I am new at cars still and I am just thinking of some..

1) Why does my car key sometimes not want to get out of the ignition? I know it has to do something about the shift but..

2) How am I suppose to learn about my car, if I don't know where to begin to start?

3) Is there anything that anybody sees wrong with her?

4) When I was driving down the highway, I got to 85 and something smelt a little funny. I asked the person in the car with mee if they smelt it as well, but they said that they didn't. To me it smelt like burning, but I don't know.. Does anybody know where it came from or what it is?
#19294 - 07/18/05 06:23 AM Re: Just a few I guess stupid questions?
HercMan(Rob) Offline
Loc: Fort Worth, Texas
Well Pontiac kinda messed up with the wiring for the shift interlock and iirc the only way to fix it is to have it rewired. It's a fairly common nuisance problem that these cars have. As for question 2. You start with what ails you the most and go from there. Your on the right track. You can also take a look at my website there is lots of good info in there for you to use. Question 3. Not that I can see.
As for number 4 hard to say it could be anything or it could be nothing.
#19295 - 07/18/05 08:32 AM Re: Just a few I guess stupid questions?
AustinGTP Offline
Loc: Austin, TX
What kind of burning smell is it? Rubber? Electrical?
Check the belts and see what they look like. Make sure to look at both sides of the belts.

Died 5/1/08, resurrected 5/15/08