Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#30439 - 10/15/02 04:28 PM Where to begin?
Robotech Offline
Loc: Riverside, CA
I have a 1997 GTP and have no idea where to begin on this newest project. I've tricked out some old VWs but have never worked on the newer cars so I'm new to this.

Eventually, I want to do as much as I can to this car while keeping it street legal. I want to start updating 0-60 time but also need to address 60-0 and handling.

I understand some basic principles, such as an exhaust system is in my near future but should I go with a cat back system or have one custom done? Is it better to look at going with a new SC Pulley first or a new air intake system? Can I put a Ram Air on this car, will it be a big difference compared to a cold air intake compared to a K&N cone filter? ETC.

Any help here in getting me started in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. I have wanted one of these cars since they came out and now finally have one. It is a fantastic car and is pretty fast now but would love to do more to it. I guess the best way to sum up how I feel about this car is the look I saw on some poor kid's face in his late 80's 300Z Turbo with it's big wing and import decals aplenty looking over at the "Grandpa mobile" showing him nothing but tail lights.

Thanks again for any help you may be able to provide.
#30440 - 10/16/02 04:54 PM Re: Where to begin?
Ferb Offline
Loc: San Luis Obispo, CA
My suggestion would be to start to get the car breathing better on its own, THEN get the pulley. If you try to cram more air in with a stock air-intake and exhaust, you'll get very minimal gains.

Regarding the custom or manufactured catbacks, it's all personal opinion. The nice thing about retail catbacks is that a shadetree can install them in a driveway, instead of taking it to the muffler shop. Any way you go, it's all up to the sound you want.