Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#42628 - 05/05/04 12:35 PM Grand Prix GTP
Layziepop Offline
Loc: St. Clair, MI
Hello everybody! I'm new here, and I'm also new to the Grand Prix scene. Here's the deal. I was looking for a new car to replace my 92 Bonneville, when in the paper I came across a 1997 GP GTP for sale for $5750. I went to check it out, test drove it and loved it, and asked if they'd accept $5000 for it. They agreed, but I thought I'd get some opinions before I jumped on it.

The car is in very good shape, but definately not perfect. The paint is still very glossy all around, but has a few stone chips on the hood (typical, though). The hood has 2 small spots of rust, both about half the size of a dime, and in the same spot. Other than that, the body is rustless.

The interior is tan leather, and in good shape. Has the typical creases that come with age, but has 1 small rip on the drivers side seat facing the door, about 2 inches long. The carpet is also in good shape, the back seat has a few stains, but the front drivers side has a small hole towards the seat, about 2 inches in diameter.

The engine runs GREAT, has no oil leaks (that I can see just looking), and it is awesomely fast! The supercharger seems to be in good condition as well.

The car was owned by 2 people, both non smokers within the same family. The first was an older woman who bought it on a five year lease, the second was a middle aged woman with kids (note the stains on the carpet in the back)

Another thing I noticed was that 1 headlight was partially filled with water and the taillights are starting to get a white fog around the edges.

And finally, there are 2 lights illuminated on the dashboard. There is a low coolant light, and an SRS Airbag light. The coolant system was pressure checked and has no leaks, and she could not explain the airbag light, which worries me.