Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#49258 - 04/19/08 10:42 AM rear strut replacement
95Zman Offline
Loc: Indiana
ok, yes i'm a noob. i tried this yesterday with only watching a video online of how to do it, i got the strut out of the car and reassembled in 1.5 hours. then spent another 4.5 trying to get the strut mount to line up with the holes in the trunk.

i bought the strut mounts from the wbody store. the bolts they gave me were so small compared to the stock bolts that are stamped in the stock mount that we spent those painful extra hours just trying to get the strut to go back in. so we went to autozone and bought new bolts that were longer.

i think part of my problem was that when we put the new mounts on that we didn't have it lined up right to go back in. does anyone have any advice so that when i do the other side i can make it less painful? the only way we got the one side in was by putting the spring compressor on the spring so we could move the mount around while we lined up the bolts with the holes. sorry for the long post.
#49259 - 04/19/08 01:02 PM Re: rear strut replacement
zuulmusic Offline
Loc: Cleveland, OH
I'm trying to remember when I did this. I think I fit it in place loosely first. Also, I hope you are compressing the springs...
#49260 - 04/20/08 02:27 AM Re: rear strut replacement
crimpton Offline
Loc: Portland Or.
Not sure how you're going about this, but it sounds like you're mounting the strut to the lower arm beform installing the top plate screws. If that's what you're doing, try installing the top plate screws first, then the lower bolts.

http://pdxcgp.com
#49261 - 04/20/08 10:44 AM Re: rear strut replacement
ordonez1307 Offline
Loc: Bradenton, FL
Quote:
Originally posted by crimpton:
Not sure how you're going about this, but it sounds like you're mounting the strut to the lower arm beform installing the top plate screws. If that's what you're doing, try installing the top plate screws first, then the lower bolts.