New member, few questions!!

Posted by: 01GTshaner

New member, few questions!! - 11/03/08 01:19 PM

Hey everyone i'm new here, as of this morning actually. Really enjoyed scanning the forums over everyones rides, all unique in their own way, i'm proud to own one.

I'm a 18 year old student whos looking for some minor and hopefully rather inexpensive mods for my 01 GT. Nothing major so far has been done, i got the 'custom car grills' fronts, throughout infiniti speakers, jvc deck, and thats about it.

I'm interested in getting a simple aftermarket air filter (i hear its quite inexpensive, boosts a bit of HP and provides a nicer purr?) as well as new exhaust (preferably new mufflers and tips) .. i'm going for a slightly more loud sounding exhaust? I noticed a lot of people use the Flowmaster 40 series?

Please throw me your suggestions for me! I'm on a kinda stingy budget making payments / gas with a part time job lol so .. thanks and i'm glad to be here!!
Posted by: ordonez1307

Re: New member, few questions!! - 11/03/08 01:28 PM

Welcome!

Make your own intake at home depot. Thats the cheapest first mod you can do.

Re: New member, few questions!! - 11/03/08 01:43 PM

care to elaborate on how one would do this ? :p
Thanks =D
Posted by: r.s.hutchinson

Re: New member, few questions!! - 11/03/08 02:12 PM

Welcome man, you actually did some reading, good start!

To make your own open cone intake you just need a cone filter and some pvc pipe. Their are many ways to do this. Basically look at an intake and get some PVC pipe that matches. You'll likely need a 45* PVC elbow,some straight PVC pipe and a filter.

As for exhaust the FM 40's are over priced, I have some 20$ Summit Turbo muffs and they sound nearly the same.

If you are really on a budget and want a good sound that is just louder, then keep the stock muffs. Replace your u-bend and resonator with straight pipe and get some nice exhaust tips you like and have them put on your stock muffs.
Posted by: BoostenGTP